Play & Stay Ireland

15 Apr 2014

glenarm

THE WEST

County Clare

Cliffs of Moher, http://www.cliffsofmoher.ie

Burren Perfumery & Tea Rooms, http://www.burrenperfumery.com

Dromoland Castle, http://www.dromoland.ie

Burren Smokehouse, http://www.burrensmokehouse.ie

Hazel Mountain Chocolate, http://www.hazelmountainchocolate.com

Gregan’s Castle, http://www.gregans.ie

Wild Honey Inn, http://www.wildhoneyinn.com

Doonbeg (if you golf, this is an excellent Greg Norman designed course, used to be privately owned, but was recently purchased by Donald Trump, not sure if it has changed) https://www.trumphotelcollection.com/ireland/

Father Ted’s House and McCormack’s Organic Lamb Farm, http://www.fathertedshouse.com

County Galway

Ballynahinch Castle Hotel http://ballynahinch-castle.com

The Stop B&B, http://www.thestopbandb.com

The Inn to the West http://www.theinntothewest.com

Sheridan’s Cheese, http://www.sheridanscheesemongers.com/shop/galway/

Aniar, http://www.aniarrestaurant.ie

LOAM, http://loamgalway.com

Ard Bia, http://www.ardbia.com

Kai Café, http://kaicaferestaurant.com

Dillisk Project, http://www.dillisk.com

Cnoc Suan, http://www.cnocsuain.com

Kylemore Abbey, http://www.kylemoreabbeytourism.ie

Burren Nature Sanctuary, http://www.bns.ie

Inis Mean, http://inismeain.com

Inishbofin, http://www.inishbofin.com

Roundstone, http://www.roundstone-connemara.com

Clifden, http://www.connemara.ie/en/connemara/clifden/

County Limerick

Milk Market (Saturday), http://www.milkmarketlimerick.ie

Frank McCourt Museum, http://frankmccmuseum.wix.com/frankmccourtmuseum

King John’s Castle, http://www.shannonheritage.com/KingJohnsCastle/

Hunt Museum, http://www.huntmuseum.com

No. 1 Pery Square, http://oneperysquare.com

Canteen, http://wearecanteen.com

Mustard Seed, http://www.mustardseed.ie

Glenstal Abbey, http://www.glenstal.org (Gregorian chant service by monks Sundays)

Clonshire Equestrian Centre, http://www.clonshire.com

1826 Adare, http://1826adare.ie

Adare Manor, http://www.adaremanor.com

Dunraven Arms, http://www.dunravenhotel.com

County Mayo

Belleek Castle, http://www.belleekcastle.com

Ashford Castle, http://www.ashfordcastle.com

Achill Island, http://www.achilltourism.com

Croagh Patrick, http://www.croagh-patrick.com

Knock, http://www.knockshrine.ie

National Museum of Irish Country Life, http://www.museum.ie/

Share
· · · ◊ ◊ ◊ · · ·

5 Responses to “Play & Stay Ireland”

  1. judy says:

    Imen
    First off I received your book for christmas and have made the cream scones 5 times!! So quick and delish. We (husband and sister inlaw and myself) are spending a month in Ireland from mid May to Mid June. Your play and stay suggestions have been instrumental in helping us plan our itinerary.
    Can’t thank you enough for sharing with your readers.
    Many thanks Judy

  2. Exciting!! I am going to Ireland for the first time August 12th-21st this year. Do you know of any events, food related workshops, or any must see recommendations happing then? I would be so elated to hear your thoughts. P.S. I can’t wait to buy your book!

  3. Juliana says:

    Thank you for this wonderful list! I have a trip to Ireland planned this spring and this is just what I need for inspiration.

  4. Mary Lavelle says:

    I recently returned from IRE, While there I received a recipe from Murphys pub/restaurant for brown bread which calls for “2 cup” brown sugar”. Is a Irish cup the same as a cup in US? Might sound like a silly question, but I can’t find any conversions for this, and the rest of the recipe is in metric.

    • imen says:

      Hi Mary, hmmm, that is unusual. There is a UK cup and it is really basically a tea cup. That could be what they meant. But, 2 cups of brown sugar sounds crazy! I only use honey to sweeten my recipe http://farmette.ie/2012/04/06/irish-brown-bread/ and it is the “taste of Ireland” if I do say so myself =) it has won baking awards here with Irish judges. Let me know how you get on with your recipe, I would really love to know!

· · · ◊ ◊ ◊ · · ·

Leave a Reply